- Interstate 107 - http://fm107.com/wrhm -

Taylor Swift Leads Songwriter Honors

Posted By Tom Roland On October 18, 2010 @ 10:22 AM In Country Music News | Comments Disabled


Taylor Swift photo courtesy of Big Machine Records.

Taylor Swift [2] couldn’t ask for much better timing. As she heads into the last week of promotion for her new album, Speak Now [3], she was named Songwriter/Artist of the Year Sunday night during the Nashville Songwriters Association International’s annual songwriter awards at the Renaissance Nashville Hotel.

Tom Douglas and Allen Shamblin took Song of the Year for penning the emotional Miranda Lambert [4] hit “The House That Built Me [5],” and Chris DuBois earned Songwriter of the Year for his work as an author of Craig Morgan [6]’s “This Ain’t Nothin’” and the Brad Paisley [7] singles “Then” and “Welcome To The Future.”

The awards were part of a formal evening that saw four new members added to the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame and had 11 titles recognized by the songwriting community as the cream of the crop: Songs I Wish I’d Written. That list included “Need You Now,” “White Liar,” “Big Green Tractor” and Taylor’s “You Belong With Me.”

“Since I can remember,” Taylor said, “my favorite thing in the whole world was a good story, going back to when my mom and dad would read me stories when I was little and then discovering poetry in English class. And then I discovered this town called Nashville, where they tell the coolest stories and in my opinion, they tell them in the most magical ways.”

“I thank you from the bottom of my heart for being so generous with me,” she continued. “Whether it was telling fairytales or sad stories or stories that were just about my life and what I was going through, you’ve been wonderful to me, and I’m havin’ a blast telling stories.”

Chris deflected attention during his acceptance speech to Tom Douglas. In addition to writing “The House That Built Me,” Tom also penned Lady Antebellum [8]’s “I Run To You” and Tim McGraw [9]’s “Southern Voice,” giving him a trio of high-impact No. 1 singles.

“I feel like Tom Douglas should demand a recount!” Chris said.

Tom had already claimed his honor for “The House That Built Me.” His acceptance speech found him contemplating one of songwriters’ biggest foes: over-used language.

“You see people at awards shows and you often think, ‘Gosh, how cliché,’ ‘cause everybody kind of says the same thing,” he acknowledged. “But I think the reason why it sounds cliché is because you feel so small at a moment like this and you realize how many people have invested into your life to make a moment like this possible.”

The 11 “Songs I Wish I’d Written” include:
• “Need You Now” (Lady Antebellum), Charles Kelley, Dave Haywood, Hillary Scott, Josh Kear, songwriters
• “Use Somebody” (Kings Of Leon), Nathan Followill, Caleb Followill, Jared Followill, Matthew Followill
• “A Little More Country Than That” (Easton Corbin [10]), Don Poythress, Rory Lee Feek [11], Wynn Varble
• “Big Green Tractor” (Jason Aldean [12]), David Lee Murphy, Jim Collins
• “I Run To You” (Lady Antebellum), Charles Kelley, Dave Haywood, Hillary Scott, Tom Douglas
• “Red Light” (David Nail [13]), Dennis Matkosky, Jonathan Singleton, Melissa Peirce
• “Southern Voice” (Tim McGraw), Bob DiPiero, Tom Douglas
• “The Climb” (Miley Cyrus [14]), Jessi Alexander, Jon Mabe
• “The House That Built Me” (Miranda Lambert), Tom Douglas, Allen Shamblin
• “White Liar” (Miranda Lambert), Miranda Lambert, Natalie Hemby
• “You Belong With Me” (Taylor Swift), Taylor Swift, Liz Rose

Which songs do you wish YOU had written? Leave us a comment below!

[15] [15] [15] ShareThis [15]

Article printed from Interstate 107: http://fm107.com/wrhm

URL to article: http://fm107.com/wrhm/2010/10/taylor-swift-leads-songwriter-honors/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_taylor_swift/article/0,,GAC_29996_4708512,00.html

[2] Taylor Swift: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_taylor_swift

[3] Speak Now: http://www.amazon.com/Speak-Now-Taylor-Swift/dp/B003WTE886/?tag=greaamercoun-20

[4] Miranda Lambert: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_miranda_lambert

[5] The House That Built Me: http://blog.gactv.com/blog/2010/08/04/miranda-lambert-has-a-house-party/

[6] Craig Morgan: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_craig_morgan

[7] Brad Paisley: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_brad_paisley

[8] Lady Antebellum: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_lady_antebellum

[9] Tim McGraw: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_tim_mcgraw

[10] Easton Corbin: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_easton_corbin

[11] Rory Lee Feek: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_joey_and_rory

[12] Jason Aldean: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_jason_aldean/

[13] David Nail: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_david_nail

[14] Miley Cyrus: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_miley_cyrus

[15] Image: http://fm107.com/wrhmjavascript:void(0);

Copyright © 2010 Our Three Sons Broadcasting. All rights reserved.