Print This Story Print This Story Email This Story Email This Story

Garth Brooks to Join Songwriters Hall of Fame

Garth Brooks photo by Mark Tucker, courtesy of Pearl Records.

Superstar Garth Brooks will become a member of the Songwriters Hall of Fame at the organization’s 42nd Annual Induction and Awards Dinner on Thursday, June 16 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City. Additional special award honorees will be announced soon.

“I want to thank the Songwriters Hall of Fame for this distinguished honor,” said Garth. “To consider myself a ‘songwriter’ is something I find hard to agree with, for it is the songwriter that is the most gifted and most important ingredient in the music formula.  I am humbled and flattered by this award and want to thank the songwriters I have written with in the past.  I feel it is because of them I am receiving this award.”

If you’d like to salute Garth in person, you’d better have deep pockets. Tickets for the Songwriters Hall of Fame event begin at $1000 each, and are available through Buckley Hall Events, (212) 573-6933. Net proceeds from the event will go towards the Songwriters Hall of Fame programs.

Certified by the RIAA as the No. 1 selling solo artist in US history, Garth has sold more than 128 million albums and is the only solo artist in RIAA history to have six albums top the 10 million mark. His most recent release, The Ultimate Hits, has been certified 5x platinum. Since breaking onto the charts in 1989, Garth has brought a variety of styles, including working class blues, honky tonk, bluegrass and arena rock. As a songwriter his credits include “If Tomorrow Never Comes,” “The Thunder Rolls,” “Unanswered Prayers” and “We Shall Be Free” to name a few.

Garth has received every accolade the recording industry can bestow on an artist, including  two Grammys®, 17 American Music Awards, 11 Country Music Association Awards, 18 Academy of Country Music Awards, five World Music Awards, 12 People’s Choice Awards, and 36 Billboard Music Awards. 

In 2001, in the midst of one of the most successful careers in music history, Garth retired and moved back to Oklahoma to raise his children. In 2008, he headlined President Obama’s Inaugural Celebration at the Lincoln Memorial. In 2009, he emerged out of retirement and entered a five-year performing relationship with Las Vegas resort developer, Steve Wynn. He recently finished nine concerts to raise $5 million for the flood relief efforts in Nashville, Tennessee.

Garth joins fellow inductees and legends John Bettis, Leon Russell, Billy Steinberg & Tom Kelly and Allen Toussaint. Several of the other inductees have ties to country music. John Bettis wrote George Strait’s “Heartland” and his song “Slow Hand” was recorded by Conway Twitty (as well as pop/R&B group The Pointer Sisters). He’s also the writer of many Carpenters hits, including the country-charting “Top Of The World.” Billy Steinberg & Tom Kelly wrote the pop hits “Alone” (recorded by Heart) and “I’ll Stand By You” (recorded and co-written by Chrissie Hynde of The Pretenders) — both covered by Carrie Underwood. Allen Toussaint has produced, written for, arranged, had his songs covered by and performed with artists including The Judds (“Working In The Coalmine”) and Glen Campbell (“Southern Nights”).

Full biographies and a complete list of inductees are available at the Songwriters Hall of Fame’s Virtual Museum at

“We are inspired by the striking caliber and range of the 2011 Songwriters Hall of Fame class,” says SHOF Chairman, legendary songwriter, and Songwriters Hall of Fame inductee Jimmy Webb. “John, Garth, Leon, Billy, Tom and Allen each represent a unique breed of artist, warmly respected by their peers and revered by all lovers of song. As songwriters, their work has forever enriched our world’s music.”

Established in 1969, the Songwriters Hall of Fame (SHOF) serves as a vital bridge between music’s past and future. In the museum, musical pioneers are enshrined and celebrated, while the organization’s music community outreach grooms the next generation of troubadours. In entering the Hall, John Bettis, Garth Brooks, Leon Russell, Billy Steinberg & Tom Kelly and Allen Toussaint join an elite family that includes Kris Kristofferson, Carole King, Holland-Dozier-Holland, Dolly Parton, James Taylor, Van Morrison, Bruce Springsteen, Sir Elton John, Bernie Taupin, Loretta Lynn, Leonard Cohen, James Brown and more.


Comments are closed.