Print This Story Print This Story Email This Story Email This Story

ACM Honors The Gatlin Brothers, Garth Brooks With Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award

Larry Gatlin (center) and the Gatlin Brothers, photo courtesy of Absolute Publicity.

The Academy of Country Music has announced the winners of the 2011 Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award. This year, the award will go to The Gatlin Brothers and Garth Brooks. The award honors those who are seen as pioneers in the country music industry. Past recipients of the award include Alabama, Johnny Cash, Merle Haggard, George Jones, Dolly Parton, Kenny Rogers, Charlie Daniels, Hank Williams, Sr. and Hank Williams, Jr. among others.

“Steve, Rudy and I are so very grateful to the Academy for this incredible honor,” said Larry Gatlin. “The Academy was a very important part of our career from the far beginning, so it seems that ‘the circle is unbroken. P.S., congrats to Garth. We think he has a great future ‘in the business.’”

The Gatlin Brothers are known for their family harmony sound. Some of their hits include “Houston (Means I’m One Day Closer To You),” “Broken Lady,” and “I just Wish You Were Someone I Love.” The Gatlin Brothers and Garth will receive their award in Nashville at a date to be announced.


Comments are closed.