- Interstate 107 - http://fm107.com/wrhm -

Stars Salute New Hall of Fame Members Reba, Jean Shepard & Bobby Braddock

Posted By Wendy Newcomer On May 24, 2011 @ 12:59 AM In Country Music News | Comments Disabled


New Hall of Fame members Jean Shepard, Bobby Braddock and Reba McEntire at the 2011 Country Music Hall of Fame Medallion Ceremony, held on Sunday, May 22 at the Hall of Fame in Nashville. Photo by Donn Jones Photography (Donn Jones, Richard Suter, Terry Wyatt).

Members of the Country Music Hall of Fame and some of country’s biggest stars reunited at the Country Music Hall of Fame® and Museum on Sunday, May 22, 2011 to salute Country Music Hall of Fame inductees Bobby Braddock, Reba McEntire [2] and Jean Shepard. Click HERE [1] to see our star-studded photo gallery from the night!

At the invitation of the Country Music Association, the private Medallion Ceremony became the official rite of induction for new members of the Country Music Hall of Fame in 2007.  The evening included musical salutes to Braddock, McEntire and Shepard. The new members were inducted and welcomed as peers by members of the Hall of Fame, who also presented keepsake medals:  Bill Anderson [3] inducted Braddock; Dolly Parton [4] inducted Reba; and George Jones [5] inducted Jean.

Artists paying tribute to Braddock included Billy Currington [6], Miranda Lambert [7] and Blake Shelton [8], Tracy Lawrence [9], and George Jones with Jimmy Capps, Charlie McCoy and Millie Kirkham; artists saluting Reba included Garth Brooks [10], Kelly Clarkson and Martina McBride [11], Vince Gill [12], and Trisha Yearwood [13]; and artists honoring Shepard included Bill Anderson and Elizabeth Cook [14], Vince Gill, and Ranger Doug Green of Riders in the Sky.  All the performers were backed by John Hobbs and the 2011 Medallion All-Star Band.  With ceremony musical director Hobbs on keyboards, the Medallion All-Stars included Eddie Bayers Jr., drums; Paul Franklin, steel guitar; Steve Gibson, electric guitar; Michael Rhodes, bass guitar; Deanie Richardson, fiddle; Dawn Sears, background vocals; Biff Watson, acoustic guitar; and Jeff White, background vocals. Vince and the McCrary Sisters sang the traditional opening hymn, performing “Down by the Riverside.”

In addition to Anderson, Braddock, Gill, Jones, McCoy, McEntire, Parton and Shepard, other Hall of Fame members who attended included Harold Bradley, Ralph Emery, Jimmy Fortune of the Statler Brothers, Sonny James, Brenda Lee, Barbara Mandrell [15], Gordon Stoker of the Jordanaires and Jo Walker-Meador.

[16] [16] [16] ShareThis [16]

Article printed from Interstate 107: http://fm107.com/wrhm

URL to article: http://fm107.com/wrhm/2011/05/stars-salute-new-hall-of-fame-members-reba-jean-shepard-bobby-braddock/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_artists_a-z/article/0,,GAC_26071_6039759,00.html

[2] Reba McEntire: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_reba_mcentire

[3] Bill Anderson: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_artists_a-z/article/0,,GAC_26071_4735878,00.html

[4] Dolly Parton: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_dolly_parton

[5] George Jones: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_george_jones

[6] Billy Currington: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_billy_currington

[7] Miranda Lambert: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_miranda_lambert

[8] Blake Shelton: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_blake_shelton

[9] Tracy Lawrence: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_tracy_lawrence

[10] Garth Brooks: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_garth_brooks

[11] Martina McBride: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_martina_mcbride

[12] Vince Gill: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_vince_gill

[13] Trisha Yearwood: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_trisha_yearwood

[14] Elizabeth Cook: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_artists_a-z/article/0,,GAC_26071_5734319,00.html

[15] Barbara Mandrell: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_barbara_mandrell

[16] Image: http://fm107.com/wrhmjavascript:void(0);

Copyright © 2010 Our Three Sons Broadcasting. All rights reserved.