- Interstate 107 - http://fm107.com/wrhm -

Alan Jackson, Merle Haggard & More Help Finish Hank Williams Songs for New CD

Posted By Sarah Wyland On August 5, 2011 @ 1:39 PM In Country Music News | Comments Disabled

Alan Jackson [1]

Alan Jackson at the Country Music Hall of Fame & Museum on Thursday, July 28, 2011.

Bob Dylan’s label imprint, Egyptian Records, in partnership with the Country Music Hall of Fame  and Museum’s CMF Records and Columbia Records, will release The Lost Notebooks of Hank Williams on October 4, 2011. The album is collection of previously unrecorded Hank Williams [2] lyrics now put to music and performed by artists with ties to Hank Sr.

The album serves as an audio companion to the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museums Family Tradition: The Williams Family Legacy. The exhibition presents a behind the scenes look of one of America’s most famous musical families and is the largest and most popular temporary exhibit in the museum’s history. Family photographs and memorabilia from the Williams’ home such as a television and a liquor cabinet are on display. Opened in March of 2008, the exhibit will close on December 31, 2011.

The Lost Notebooks of Hank Williams began with the idea of finding a well-known artist who was inspired and influenced by Hank. Bob Dylan was approached initially and from there, the album evolved to include several artists. Alan Jackson [3] is featured on the album and he was on hand at the Country Music Hall of Fame last week to help announce the Museum’s expansion plans [4]. He performed the song “You’ve Been Lonesome, Too” which was partially written by Hank Sr. and finished by Alan.

“One of the coolest things in my career was to get to write a song with Hank Williams, Sr.,” said Alan. “I never thought that would happen! We cut the track like Hank – we didn’t do drums and piano, just the basic stuff. We did it just like Hank [would’ve] done it back in 1949 – sparse, but cool.”

Other artists included on the album include Hank Sr.’s granddaughter, Holly Williams [5], Sheryl Crow, [6] Merle Haggard [7], Patty Loveless [8]and Vince Gill [9].

The Lost Notebooks of Hank Williams – tracklisting:

  1. You’ve Been Lonesome, Too – Alan Jackson
  2. The Love That Faded  – Bob Dylan
  3. How Many Times Have You Broken My Heart?  – Norah Jones
  4. You Know That I Know – Jack White
  5. I’m So Happy I Found You  – Lucinda Williams
  6. I Hope You Shed a Million Tears – Vince Gill and Rodney Crowell
  7. You’re Through Fooling Me – Patty Loveless
  8. You’ll Never Again Be Mine – Levon Helm
  9. Blue Is My Heart – Holly Williams
  10. Oh, Mama, Come Home – Jakob Dylan
  11. Angel Mine – Sheryl Crow
  12. The Sermon on the Mount – Merle Haggard

[10] [10] [10] ShareThis [10]

Article printed from Interstate 107: http://fm107.com/wrhm

URL to article: http://fm107.com/wrhm/2011/08/alan-jackson-merle-haggard-more-help-finish-hank-williams-songs-for-new-cd/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_alan_jackson/article/0,,GAC_26112_4704123,00.html

[2] Hank Williams: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_hank_williams_sr/article/0,,GAC_26936_4874790,00.html

[3] Alan Jackson: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_alan_jackson

[4] expansion plans: http://blog.gactv.com/blog/2011/07/28/alan-jackson-helps-kick-off-hall-of-fame-expansion-campaign/

[5] Holly Williams: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_artists_a-z/article/0,,GAC_26071_5941256,00.html

[6] Sheryl Crow,: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_artists_a-z/article/0,,GAC_26071_6029230,00.html

[7] Merle Haggard: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_merle_haggard

[8] Patty Loveless : http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_patty_loveless

[9] Vince Gill: http://www.gactv.com/gac/ar_az_vince_gill

[10] Image: http://fm107.com/wrhmjavascript:void(0);

Copyright © 2010 Our Three Sons Broadcasting. All rights reserved.