Print This Story Print This Story Email This Story Email This Story

George Jones, Glen Campbell Among Recipients of Special Merit Awards

Glen Campbell photo courtesy of Big Hassle PR.

The Allman Brothers Band, Glen Campbell and George Jones are among the artists announced as recipients of The Recording Academy’s Special Merit Awards. All three, along with Antonio Carlos Jobim, the Memphis Horns, Diana Ross and Gil Scott-Heron, will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award. Dave Bartholomew, Steve Jobs and Rudy Van Gelder were announced as Trustees Award honorees and Celemony and Roger Nichols were named Technical GRAMMY Award honorees.

“This year’s honorees offer a variety of brilliance, contributions and lasting impressions on our culture,” said President/CEO of The Recording Academy Neil Portnow. “It is an honor to recognize such a diverse group of individuals whose talents and achievements have had an indelible impact on our industry.”

The Lifetime Achievement Award honors performers who have made contributions of outstanding artistic significance to the field of recording while the Trustees Award recognizes contributions in areas other than performance. Technical GRAMMY Award is presented to individuals and companies who have made contributions of outstanding technical significance to the recording field.

The invitation-only ceremony will be held during GRAMMY Week on Saturday, Feb. 11, 2012, and a formal acknowledgment will be made during the 54th Annual GRAMMY Awards which will air live on CBS on February 12, 2012 at 8/7 CT.

Browse photos from last year’s 53rd Annual GRAMMY Awards show »


Comments are closed.