Print This Story Print This Story Email This Story Email This Story

Restless Heart Celebrates 30 Years with New & Old Music

Restless Heart

Restless Heart photo courtesy of Absolute Publicity, Inc.

To celebrate their 30-year anniversary, Restless Heart has returned to their first record label to release both old and new music. On May 21, RCA/Legacy will release Playlist: The Very Best of Restless Heart. The 14-track album includes 12 of the band’s biggest hits as well as two previously unreleased songs.

With four gold albums, six No. 1 hits and nine Top 10s released within a 7-year span, Restless Heart formed in 1983 in Nashville. They soon saw success, releasing six consecutive hits between 1986 and 1988. They were the first country band to challenge Alabama’s status as the top country band in the 1980s.

Restless Heart’s sound was different, drawing from both pop and rock as well as country. “That Rock Won’t Roll” and “Wheels” showcased the lead guitar from Greg Jennings while David Innis gave a contemporary sound from electronic keyboards and also added country piano to tracks like “Big Dreams In A Small Town” and “Say What’s In Your Heart.”

The band’s signature was their rich, soaring harmonies. All five members contributed vocals. Following the departure of lead vocalist Larry Stewart after 1990’s Fast Movin’ Train, the band’s pressed on with lead vocals traded by David Innis, bassist Paul Gregg and drummer John Dittrich.  The group disbanded in 1994.

Restless Heart reformed in 2002 and as of its new release, the original lineup is back together. The band has been busy working on new material including the two unreleased cuts, “Memphis Rain” and “Home,” included on Playlist: The Very Best of Restless Heart. The band has also hit the road for their “30 Years & Still Restless Tour,” which will visit more than 100 cities by year’s end.


Comments are closed.