Print This Story Print This Story Email This Story Email This Story

Alan Jackson to Release The Bluegrass Album September 24

Alan Jackson

Alan Jackson photo courtesy of Schmidt Relations.

Alan Jackson will release his first bluegrass album, aptly titled The Bluegrass Album, on September 24. Alan wrote eight songs for the album, which includes both originals and well-known bluegrass standards. The project will be released on his own Alan’s Country Records label.

Recording a bluegrass album is something Alan has discussed for years. This spring, he enlisted some of the best players and singers in bluegrass and completed the album within a few days. Among those playing on the album are Scott Coney (acoustic guitar), Sammy Shelor (banjo), Adam Steffey (mandolin), Tim Crouch (fiddle), Tim Dishman (bass), Rob Ickes (dobro) and Ronnie Bowman and Don Rigsby (vocals).

Tracks Alan wrote for the album include titles such as “Blacktop,” “Blue Ridge Mountain Song” and “Mary.” Covers include The Dillards’ “There Is A Time,” John Anderson’s “Wild and Blue” and a ¾-time version of Bill Monroe’s seminal “Blue Moon of Kentucky.”


Comments are closed.