Print This Story Print This Story Email This Story Email This Story

13 NFL Players Join Carrie Underwood in Sunday Night Football Opening

13 NFL Players Join Carrie Underwood in Sunday Night Football Opening

Carrie Underwood photo courtesy Sony Music Nashville.

13 NFL players, including Peyton Manning, Eli Manning and Aaron Rodgers, will join Carrie Underwood for her performance of “Waiting All Day for Sunday Night,” the opening theme for Sunday Night Football on NBC. Carrie will make her debut on NBC’s first SNF broadcast of the NFL season as the Dallas Cowboys host the New York Giants on September 8.

Coverage begins with Football Night in America at 7/6c and the opening theme will continue each week of the season to kick off Sunday Night Football. Larry Fitzgerald, Jimmy Graham, Calvin Johnson, Andrew Luck, Clay Matthews, LeSean McCoy, Terrell Suggs, DeMarcus Ware, J.J. Watt and Patrick Willis also appear. The thirteen NFL players featured alongside Carrie have accounted for 55 Pro Bowl selections, six Super Bowl rings and four Super Bowl MVP trophies.

“Waiting All Day for Sunday Night” is set to the original Joan Jett song “I Hate Myself for Loving You” and is Carrie’s first production with NBC Sports. Faith Hill performed the song from 2007-2012 and in 2006, the inaugural season of Sunday Night Football, Pink performed the opening.

Later this fall, Carrie will star as Maria Von Trapp in The Sound of Music. The three hour live holiday production will air on NBC December 5 and is based on the original 1959 Broadway production.


Comments are closed.